Kentucky Folklife Gathering 2021

The 2021 Kentucky Folklife Network Virtual Statewide Gathering has concluded and we thank everyone who made the time to attend.
If you missed it or want to hear some of it again, the featured speakers are available for your viewing.


Oh, The Places You’ll Go from Judy Sizemore and Bob Gates 

Folklife and Resilience in Later Life from  Jon Kay 

Documenting Rural Queer Histories & Presents fro Rae Garringer

In the Streets; On the Walls: Community Voices, Vernacular Narratives, and the George Floyd and Anti-Street Art Database from Todd Lawrence and Heather Shirey

To learn more about our speakers and panelists check out our Gathering Directory.

Day 1: March 5th

TimePresentation TitlePresenter(s)ZOOM Link
9:30 – 10:45 AM (CST)/
10:30 – 11:45 AM (EST)
Oh, The Places You’ll Go!Featured Speakers: Judy Sizemore & Bob Gates
Opening remarks by Brent Bjorkman
https://wku.zoom.us/w/91058892706
11:00 AM – 12:45 PM (CST)/
12:00 – 1:45 PM (EST)
Successful Projects and How to Fund Them
Moderator: Joel Chapman
Langston Wilkins,
William Isom,
Ashley Smith,
Katy Clune
https://wku.zoom.us/j/92313871444
1:15 PM (CST)/
2:15 PM (EST)
Lunch Visit Meet & Greet
Hosted by WKU Folk Studies Faculty
https://wku.zoom.us/j/95161378508
3:00 – 4:00 PM (CST)/
4:00 – 5:00 PM (EST)
A Conversation with Kentucky Folklife Contributors
Moderator: Delainey Bowers
Emily Hudson,
Michelle Howell,
Alex Udis.
 https://wku.zoom.us/j/98080497527
4:15 – 5:30 PM (CST)
5:15 – 6:30 PM (EST)

Folklife and Resilience in Later Life
Featured Speaker: Jon Kay of Traditional Arts Indianahttps://wku.zoom.us/j/98937976406

To see bios of all our speakers, please check out our Gathering Directory.

Day 2: March 6th

TimePresentation TitlePresenter(s)ZOOM Link
9:30 – 10:45AM (CST)/
10:30 – 11:45 AM (EST)
Documenting Rural Queer Histories & Presents Featured Speaker: Rae Garringer of Country Queershttps://wku.zoom.us/j/92796033630  
11:00 AM – 12:45 PM (CST)/
12:00 – 1:45 PM (EST)/
Folklife Programming with Media
Moderator: Ellie Dassler
Enkeshi El-Amin,
Tammy Clemons,
Joe Manning,
Mike Morrow & Josh Niedwick
 https://wku.zoom.us/j/91385058057
1:15 – 2:15 PM (CST)/
2:15 – 3:15 (EST)
Lunch Discussion:
Funding and Work Opportunities in Kentucky
Judy Sizemore, Sarah Schmitt, Mark Brown https://wku.zoom.us/j/92682872267
3:00 – 4:30 PM (CST)/
4:00 – 5:40 (EST)
Taking Projects to the Next Level:
Ethics, Sustainability, and Partnerships

Moderator: Sarah Schmitt
Judy Sizemore & Nicole Musgrave,
Marcus Cederstrom,
Savannah Barrett,
Naomi Sturm & Eric Morales,
Mike Morrow
https://wku.zoom.us/j/99904043210
4:45 – 6:00 PM (CST)/
5:45 – 7:00 PM (EST)
In the Streets; On the Walls: Community Voices, Vernacular Narratives, and the George Floyd and Anti-Racist Street Art Database
Todd Lawrence and Heather Shireyhttps://wku.zoom.us/j/97573447791

To read up on all our speakers and panelists, please visit our Gathering Directory